Ka-boom, Tally-Ho!

Ka-boom, Tally-Ho!

Pine Tower was the home of Dan
A beagle with a bawl.
Too, Crackers, Crowe and Dewey lived
behind that sandstone wall.

In summertime they’d lay around
and swat the flies with tails,
But come first frost, and things would change;
Their silence became barks and wails.

The hunting horn would make them bark,
even just the sight of one.
And if you took your shotgun out,
they’d howl and bark and run.

Their frenzy sounded like a war;
The neighbors pissed and moaned.
But Crackers, Crowe and Dan didn’t mind,
for off to the fields they’d roam.

They’d lift their legs and squat around;
their business right at hand.
But soon they’d start to hunt the hare
and scurry o’er the land.

Tally-ho, Tally-ho, There He Goes, was the call
and the Boys and the Girls took the sign.
They’d push and they’d shove for the front of the pack,
First Crackers, then Crowe on the line.

Old Sam looked up and said to me:
“These dogs are fast and smart.
You’re lucky, Jon, to have them all;
They run with spirit and heart.”

Soon Poggs Run would ring with the sound of the pack
They’d chop; they’d bawl; and they’d roar.
(“Dan’s like Thunder;” Tommy Lusk would say.)
O’er the field and the ridge they would pour.

But the hare, he would stop, and he’d lick at his feet,
take his time, have a lunch, take a stroll.
For he knew, in a pinch, he could hurry a bit,
and he’d head right straight back to his hole.

We raised our guns to get ready to shoot
for the dogs, they were close and on fire.
Ka-boom, Ka-boom was the sound that we made
But the hare, he escaped, made me a liar.

For I told good old Sam on this day that we’d have
rabbit stew for our wives and the lot.
But the Bunny, he’s smart, and he’s quick on his feet
and, again, he outran steel shot.

Tally-ho, Tally-ho, There He Goes, was the call
And the Boys and the Girls took the sign.
They’d push and they’d shove for the front of the pack.
Now Wally, then Dewey, on the line.

Ka-boom, Ka-boom was the sound that I heard
in my sleep, in a dream, in my bed.
Tally-ho, Tally-ho, There He Goes, was the sound
And on this dream occasion,… he’s dead.

J.D. Graham
Sept. 10, 1991

My favorite poem by my dad. “The Noble Beagle” acrylic on paper 18″ x 24″ by me.

This entry was posted in Beagle, J.D. Graham Poetry, Leah Graham Paintings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ka-boom, Tally-Ho!

  1. Kim says:

    I can see why you like this poem so much. And your painting is great! What a talented family.

  2. Martha says:

    Chunk looks good! I really like the redbone header. Ka-boom Tally-ho has always been one of my favorites to. Great site. I am looking forward to some more additions!

  3. Gram says:

    I don’t know what I expected but I couldn’t stop till I red and looked at every little thing and analized all. All I can say is: Hubba, Hubba, Ding Ding baby you got everything!!!! Your creativity and
    talent are terrific!!. I guess you inherited from your Dad (and Mom). I’ll keep watching.

Leave a Reply

