Lazy ‘Bones

“Lazy ‘Bones” 16″ x 22″ acrylic on paper

Having a litter of pups to raise every summer was just part of growing up on Lone Willow Farm. (Lucky for me and my brother!) Playing with puppies every day during the summer (and wearing them out in a way only kids can do) was part of life and our summer routine. Just as waking up to do the chores with my brother (he always dealt with the back-end of the dogs while I would deal with the front-end! Thanks Adam, for all those years of poop-scoopin’:) from swimming in the pond, helping with the garden, painting miles and miles of fence (4 boards are the worst) and after practicing softball and baseball with my dad, having our evening fish on the paddleboat, then canoes as we got older.

My dad can express the story behind this painting better than I can convey in words so I’ll just stick to painting and leave the writing to someone else. It also describes his affinity for Redbones and their personalities.

Lazy ‘Bones
These two young Redbone pups are not really lazy. They are just plum tuckered-out from playing hard all day long with Leah on Lone Willow Farm. I’m not exactly sure why, but the Redbone hound has become my favorite of the hunting breeds of hounds. I love their dark, cherry red coat and sweet bawl mouth on track. And their demeanor suits me as well. They’re not quite as hyper as a Walker hound, but certainly more gamey than the Plotts I’ve tried. Oh, they’ll get excited over a coon all right, but when it’s over, it’s over for these dogs. They hunt out just the right distance for me, not too far but not right at my feet either. On the whole, they seem to handle better than the other hound breeds and have a more laid-back disposition, sort of like a Blood hound. Anyway, for whatever reason, the Red dogs just seem to suit me. Perhaps it’s simply because I just happened to get me a real good one in Ole Fog, and that biased me forever. For whatever reason, Leah Graham just happened to capture the essence of my fondness for the Redbone Coonhound in this most lovely painting from 2007. It would make even Ole Hunters Timber Chopper proud!

P.S. Check out “Lazy ‘Bones” which was just accepted into the “Art Show at the Dog Show” April 9-11, 2011 Wichita, KS!

This entry was posted in J.D. Graham Poetry, Leah Graham Paintings, Redbone Coonhound and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

