Coonhounds ring NASDAQ bell and Beagles who Blog!

Image from http://www.westminsterkennelclub.org/2011/show/news/nasdaq_021311.html

On Friday, Feb. 11, 2011 NASDAQ celebrated the 135th Westminster Dog Show where the 6 new breeds welcomed into the show by the American Kennel Club, were present to ring the closing bell. Check out the pictures here!

Determined by the American Kennel Club, new breeds are accepted into the second oldest dog show in the nation based on numbers, geographic distribution, and support of a parent club. Watch the Today Show video on new breeds of the Westminster dog show here!

And the new inductees are; the Redbone Coonhound, Bluetick Coonhound, Boykin Spaniel, Cane Corso, Leonberger, and Icelandic Sheepdog.

The Westminster Dog Show was started by a group of hunters who met at the Westminster Hotel in Manhattan in 1877. The hunters wanted a show for their dogs; mostly bird dogs (Setters and Pointers). The first Westminster Show was in May 1877 which drew over 1,000 dogs. Prizes of the show included pearl-handled pistols.

Three of these breeds have a special place in my heart: the Redbone Coonhound, the Bluetick Coonhound, and the Boykin Spaniel.

Boykin Spaniels are the State Dog of South Carolina. These little chocolate dogs are used to retrieve waterfowl. In the 1900s this breed was created from a little stray dog named “Dumpy”.

My dad, me, and Sully, a Boykin Spaniel, who was my first dog. He’s checking me out the day I came back from the hospital. Sully was named after Sullivan’s Island, SC, where my parents were living at the time. Y’all knew I had a lil bit of the South in me right? That’s where I get the Leah Jane.

A dog is a kid’s best friend. Bo was just one of those dogs from  my childhood I’ll always remember. He was always there by me and my brother’s side through thick and thin.

Bo, a Boykin Spaniel, my brother Adam and his friend Chris.

My dad and Fog, Redbone Coonhound.

Fog in the night.

A glimpse of Rocky, my dad’s Bluetick Coonhound, on the hunt.

While I’m on the topic of dog shows let’s take a look at one of my favorite beagles (other than Chunky); The 132nd Westminster Best in Show Winner, Uno the beagle. Uno made Westminster history.

In 2008, Uno was the first beagle to win Best in Show out of the 100 years a beagle has been in the running for Best of Show. The last hound to win Westminster’s Best in Show was in 1983. Check out a video of Uno’s victory celebration! You gotta love him soaking up the crowd and howling with joy! (Maybe I’m biased for beagles but YAY for Uno!!) Uno also has his own blog: Check out Uno’s blog!!

This entry was posted in Dog Information, Dog Shows, Photographs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coonhounds ring NASDAQ bell and Beagles who Blog!

  1. soniamarcus says:

    Love that photo of you as a baby with your dad and the boykin spaniel.

Leave a Reply

